This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Honduras

Honduras is made up of 18 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Honduras. Information on all primary administrative regions in Honduras.

Please note that unfortunately population data are not available for all regions in Honduras.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Honduras alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Honduras

There are 18 regions in Honduras in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Honduras
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Francisco Morazan Departamento de Francisco Morazán1.1,680,700Tegucigalpa Tegucigalpa850,848
Cortes Departamento de Cortés2.1,202,510San Pedro Sula San Pedro Sula489,466
Atlantida Departamento de Atlántida3.11,370La Ceiba La Ceiba130,218
Choluteca Departamento de Choluteca4.420,350Ciudad Choluteca Ciudad Choluteca75,872
Comayagua Departamento de Comayagua5.390,643Comayagua Comayagua58,784
Olancho Departamento de Olancho6.458,365Juticalpa Juticalpa33,686
Copan Departamento de Copán7.-Santa Rosa de Copan Santa Rosa de Copán27,753
La Paz Departamento de La Paz8.173,731La Paz La Paz17,555
Yoro Departamento de Yoro9.503,886Yoro Yoro15,774
Santa Barbara Departamento de Santa Bárbara10.368,298Santa Barbara Santa Bárbara15,119
Valle Departamento de Valle11.160,346Nacaome Nacaome13,929
Colon Departamento de Colón12.-Trujillo Trujillo9,646
Ocotepeque Departamento de Ocotepeque13.118,558Nueva Ocotepeque Nueva Ocotepeque8,780
Lempira Departamento de Lempira14.277,910Gracias Gracias7,909
Bay Islands Departamento de Islas de la Bahía15.-Coxen Hole Coxen Hole7,514
Intibuca Departamento de Intibucá16.232,509La Esperanza La Esperanza5,318
Gracias a Dios Departamento de Gracias a Dios17.76,278Puerto Lempira Puerto Lempira4,856
El Paraiso Departamento de El Paraíso18.383,565Yuscaran Yuscarán2,371